Have you ever wondered if your car insurance coverage was enough to take care of you in the event of a serious accident? Our JC Demo Insurance Group team has put together this short guide to help you determine whether the coverage you carry on your auto insurance policy is just right or too low.
Understanding State Minimum Limits for North Carolina Drivers
Before we can discuss whether a basic policy is sufficient, it is important to know what’s required by law. In North Carolina, the minimum liability limits are $30,000 per person for bodily injury with a $65,000 maximum aggregate per accident. Drivers are also required to carry $25,000 or more in property damage coverage. Comprehensive and collision coverage is considered a first-party coverage and is not required unless you have a loan on your vehicle.
Is State Minimum Coverage High Enough?
In most cases, state minimum coverage is high enough. However, if you’re involved in a major accident that is determined to be your fault, there’s a chance that this amount is not high enough. Medical bills for a serious incident easily range in the hundreds of thousands of dollars and repairs to fix brand-new vehicles can easily exceed a $25,000 threshold.
Why You Should Consider a Higher Limit
One of the most common questions North Carolina drivers ask is whether they should carry higher limits on their auto insurance policy. If you have substantial assets—like a home or a business—or a moderate income, state minimum limits might not be enough if you’re involved in a serious accident. In turn, this could potentially leave you open to a possible lawsuit in the future.
JC Demo Insurance Group is proud to assist Matthews, NC residents with all of their auto insurance needs. Please contact us today to schedule an appointment.