Auto Insurance North Carolina

North Carolina is a hurricane state. When a hurricane is on the radar, drivers in the state are warned of peril in road travel ahead. Not surprisingly, auto insurance coverage is a must for drivers in North Carolina. Mandated auto liability coverage is often supplemented by comprehensive collision and damage insurance, as well as coverage for uninsured motorist risk in case of accident with a driver without adequate auto insurance. Protect your property from natural disaster.

Auto Insurance in North Carolina

North Carolina State’s Motor Vehicle Law mandates Automobile Liability coverage be continuously maintained by a driver. Minimum auto insurance coverage requirements for a single policy holder, are $30,000 for bodily Injury for one person, $60,000 bodily Injury for multiple persons injured in an accident, and a minimum of $25,000 for property damage to an insured’s vehicle.

When shopping for auto insurance, look for a policy that covers compensation for a range of damages and injuries that may be sustained as result of hospitalization, medical care, vehicle repair and replacement after an accident. Some policies provide coverage for lost wages for time spent off work injured, regardless of fault in a collision. The rules to auto insurance agreements in North Carolina, also cover terms and conditions to liability and damages for road accidents caused by natural disaster.

Hurricane Disaster, Salvage Vehicle

In North Carolina when there is a hurricane, insurance companies often declare an insured’s property a “salvage vehicle”. The classification of salvage vehicle is applied to autos with irreparable damage or natural disaster related accident wreckage from a hurricane. The definition of salvage vehicle is applied if repairs cost more than 75 percent of the fair market value of the vehicle. This makes auto liability and collision coverage supplements for vehicle damage especially attractive to North Carolina drivers. 

If an auto is declared “totaled” compensation for market value is covered under North Carolina rules to salvage vehicles. An insured can either retain the vehicle, or sign the title over to the insurance company. Insurance companies auction or junk salvage vehicle assignments for cash. Insurers or dealers selling salvaged vehicles have a duty to disclose the status of the property to the purchaser in writing. Sellers concealing damage to vehicle are commissioning a misdemeanor punishable by fines in North Carolina.

For auto insurance coverage in North Carolina, contact a licensed auto insurance broker with JC Demo Insurance Group in Matthews, NC.